Thank You For Following!

restaurants

Dear Regular Customers,

I would like to personally thank you all for following The Waitress Confessions whether it be by joining our mailing list of following us on Twitter @Wconfessions.  It means the world to me to see so many of you taking an interest in our articles and Tweets, and for that I would like to share with you one of my most embarrassing moments as a new waitress just starting out.

My most embarrassing moment as a new waitress…

It was my first day of work after a week of training.  I was feeling extremely nervous, but excited about waitressing and learning something new.  I told myself before my shift that I would appear to be confident, but friendly and would take the initiative when the time came.

I noticed that another server was in the weeds and one of their tables had no water left in their glasses.  Picking up a pitcher of water, I headed off to the table.

“Would you like some more water?” I asked.

“Yes, please!” The woman said smiling.

As I was pouring the water, I also noticed that there was a very minimal amount of wine in their glasses and they had the bottle on the side of the table.  I asked if they’d like me to serve them some wine as well.  Since their mouths were full, they nodded.

So, I picked up the wine bottle, shakily because I was still getting used to pouring wine properly without it spilling around the sides, and slowly began to pour.

I was smiling at them as I was pouring, feeling proud of myself for getting over my nerves, and saw that their faces looked confused…and rather amused.  As I kept pouring I realized that there was no wine coming out of the bottle.  Shit! I thought. They probably didn’t know it was empty and here I am trying to pour wine that’s never going to come.  My face turned red and I asked them if they’d like another bottle.

They laughed out loud, practically spitting out their food.

“Are you new?” the man asked.

I could feel my face growing hotter by the minute.

“Yes, sorry. I’m just not 100% used to serving yet.”

“That’s okay, but it makes it easier to pour the wine if you unscrew the cap.” the woman said smiling.

I didn’t even realize it was a screw cap. D’oh!

Share your embarrassing moments with us! It’s okay, we all make mistakes!

The Waitress Confessions signature JPEG

Join our Mailing List!

 

Leave a Comment

